Ockham Book Awards Winners

​The Ockham New Zealand Book Awards winners for 2017 have been announced.

From 150 entries, 40 books were longlisted in November 2016 and a shortlist of 16 titles over the four categories of Fiction, General Non Fiction, Illustrated Non Fiction and Poetry was announced in March 2017.

The New Zealand Book Awards are managed by the New Zealand Book Awards Trust and have been sponsored by Ockham Residential Limited since 2015.

Winners in each category were announced at a ceremony at the Auckland Writers Festival on 16 May 2017.


And the winners are...

Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize - Catherine Chidgey The Wish Child
Royal Society Te Aparangi Award for General Non-Fiction - Ashleigh Young Can You Tolerate This?
Illustrated Non-Fiction category - Barbara Brookes A History of New Zealand Women
Poetry - Andrew Johnston - Fits & Starts 


Shortlisted Finalists

Acorn Foundation Fiction


Royal Society Te Apārangi Award for General Non-Fiction


Illustrated Non-Fiction


Poetry Award


Page reviewed: 18 May 2017 8:35am